Deal appointed to OPWC position

Special to the Enterprise

Barnesville Village Administrator Roger A. Deal was recently appointed to serve on the Executive Committee of District 18 Ohio Public Works Commission (OPWC) by the Integrating Committee at a meeting hosted by Buckeye Hills Development District in Marietta. Deal will represent Belmont County.

The District serves the needs of ten counties comprised of Athens, Belmont, Hocking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, and Washington. The District 18 Integrating Committee is a 28-member body of local government representatives with an eleven member Executive Committee responsible for making decisions in prioritizing infrastructure projects submitted for funding under the State Capital Improvement and Local Transportation Improvement Programs that provides grant funding for water supply, wastewater systems, storm water collection, and solid waste facilities as well as for roads, bridges, and culverts. The Village of Barnesville as well as Belmont County has received millions of dollars in funding from this program.