Any teacher who taught full-time during the present school year (Aug 2010 - June 2011) in a Barnesville-area school is eligible for nomination for the George G. Skinner & Lela Skinner Bailey Teaching Development Award ("The Extra Mile").

Those schools include, Barnesville Exempted Village Schools, Olney Friends School and Barnesville Independent Elementary School.

No teacher will be eligible for the award more than once in a five-year period.

Previous winners that are ineligible: Greg Milliken 2006, Jana Crawford 2007, Bobbi Jo Johnson 2008, Abigail Chew 2009 and Marge Young 2010.

The winner will receive a cash award of $1,500 for professional development and teaching needs. The purpose of the award is to recognize teachers in the Barnesville School district who have performed above and beyond their responsibilities as educators, or, have gone the "Extra Mile". The award is in memory of George G. Skinner and Lela Skinner Bailey (both former teachers).

Anyone can nominate a teacher. Applications can be obtained from any of the schools mentioned above, emailing us at or by calling 740-425-3001.

The applications should reach the Barnesville Area Education Foundation - PO Box # 1 - Barnesville, OH 43713 by May 30, 2011. The winner will be announced at the Alumni Banquet on July 9, 2011.