ST. CLAIRSVILLE -- The Mountain State got the better of the Buckeye State twice in the annual OVAC Samuel A. Mumley All-Star Basketball Classic, with the West Virginia girls posting an 86-80 victory over Ohio and the boys completing the sweep with a 102-98 victory at Ohio University Eastern on Sunday.

In the girls' game, West Virginia was led by Linsly's Vivian Alison with 18 points. Also in double figures were Lexi Moore of Parkersburg South, Josie Daugherty of Wheeling Park and Jazzie Orth of Linsly while justin missing twin-digits were Maisie Witherow of Oak Glenn and Jordan Johnson of Parkersburg South with nine apiece.

Martins Ferry's Leah Coleman topped Ohio with 16 points. Other top scorers included Sydney Freeman of St. Clairsville with 12; Lexi Brookover of Frontier and Sydney Bridges of Martins Ferry with 10 apiece; and Rhiannon Petrisko of Steubenville with nine.

Cambridge's Marlo Taylor and Barnesville's Kallee Dowler each had a three-point goal for the Lady Buckeyes, with Taylor also collecting five rebounds while Dowler had one.

In the boys' game whch went right down to the wire, West Virginia's top scorer was Geoff Hamperian of University School with 14 points.

For Ohio, Charles Reeves of Steubenville and Joe Nave of Edison each connected for 16 points. Meadowbrook's Parker Black turned in a solid all-around effort with 11 points, nine rebounds and three assists; Martins Ferry's Zac Selbnetted nine markers; and Ty West of Toronto and Justin Miller of Wellsville each had eight.

A host of special awards were presented throughout the day, including Bob Phillips of Beallsville (Rich Saffield Girls' Coaches Award); Jeff Sabatino of Martins Ferry (Earl Haberfield Boys' Coaches Award); jim Welsh of Bishop Donahue (Thomas E. Rataicak Scorekeeper/Timer Award); Irwin "Nat" Sabatino (Robert Dawson Officials Award); Dave Gaudino of Marshall County (Bob Burton Distinguished Service Award).

The winner of the girls' three-point shootout was Allison Kuhn of Monroe Central and the winner of the boys' slam dunk contest was Justin Miller of Wellsville.

The Ohio Valley officials presented Don Murray of Bishop Donahue with its Athletic Director of the Year Award and the Sportsmanship Awards to the River boys' team and the Cameron girls' team.

Among a bevy of scholarship winners was Marlo Taylor of Cambridge, who received a Betty Ann Ponzo Scholarship Award along with Rachel Baker of Valley High. The Ray Ponzo Scholarship winners were Dylan Irvin of Valley and Justyn Keyser of Bellaire; the Richard Potts Scholarship winners were Taylor Straughn of Bishop Donahue and Michael Scarnecchia of St. Clairsville; and the Richard Saffield Schoalrship winner was Josie Daugherty of Wheeling Park.