With nine champions, a pair of second place finishers and one each at third and fourth, the perennially strong Claymont Mustangs easily captured the team championship of the 43rd Barnesville Wrestling Tournament sponsored by Doan Ford.

The Mustangs rolled up 307.5 points to far outdistance runner-up Tuscarawas Valley that scored 115.5 points. Caldwell captured third place in the team standings with 103 points with Meadowbrook finishing eighth (55 points), host Barnesville 15th (34 points), Newcomerstown 16th (32 points) and Shenandoah 18th with eight points.

Finishing behind Caldwell in fourth place was St. Clairsville with 94.5 points followed by Martins Ferry (90), Sandy Valley (84.5) and Morgan in seventh place with 84 points. Behind Meadowbrook there was a tie for ninth place with Columbus Bishop Hartley and Monroe Central each scoring 46 points with Cinncinatti Hills Christian Academy 11th (45), River 12th (41.5), while Beallsville and Union Local tied for 13th place with 41 points each.

Bridgeport was 17th in the team standings with 18 points with Conotton Valley finishing 19th with three points.

Meadowbrooks Jerad Patterson claimed the individual championship in the 120-pound division to improve to 10-2 on the year including a perfect 4-0 mark at the Barnesville Invitational. In the championship bout, Patterson claimed a 3-2 decision over Joe Newman of Sandy Valley.

Caldwell garnered the third place finish with four second place individual finishes. Kameron Rayner in the 138-pound division improved to 7-1 on the year with a 3-1 mark at Barnesville dropping a 3-0 decision to Caden Herron of Claymont in the championship bout.

Caleb VanMeter at 160 pounds also improved to 7-1 on the year with a 3-1 record at Barnesville suffering a pin by Dalton Nolte of St. Clairsville at the 4:59 mark of the championship match. Kale Rayner claimed second to also go to 7-1 on the year and 3-1 mark at Barnesville being defeated 3-2 by Matt Dennis of Claymont in the championship of the class. The other Caldwell runner-up was Jared Leasure in the 182-pound class as he also went 3-1 at Barnesville to improve to 7-1 on the season. Colt Crall of Claymont scored a 9-5 decision in the championship match.

Newcomerstown claimed a pair of third-place finishes with Alan Hayhurst going to 10-2 on the year with a injury default win over Hobie Howiler of host Barnesville in the 126-pound class. Hayhurst was dropped into the consolation bout by a 6-5 loss to Hayden Matheney of Morgan in the semifinal round.

Also finishing third for the Trojans was Mitchell Meeks at 182 pounds who defeated Seth Benge of St. Clairsville 5-4 in the consolation match after he was defeated by Leasure of Caldwell in the quarterfinals. He then beat Hudson Cole of Sandy Valley 1-0 to reach the consolation finals and is now 9-2 on the season.

For the Shamrocks, Howiler (9-3 on the year) dropped into the wrestle-backs with a 13-3 major decison loss to Kollin Clark of Claymont in the quarterfinals. He then defeated Tyler Jenkins of Meadowbrook 11-4 to advance to the consolation finals where he had to default due to injury.

Also claiming fourth for Barnesville was Taylor Griffen in the 138-pound division who dropped into the consolation rounds due to a pin by Caden Herron of Claymont in the quarterfinals. He then defeated Tony Collins of Tuscarawas Valley by a major decision (9-1) to advance to the consolation bout and is now 8-4 on the year.

Other individual champions were: 106-Tyler Warner (Claymont), 113-D.J. Warner (Claymont), 126-Clark (Claymont), 132-Cody Burcher (Claymont), 138-Herron (Claymont), 145-Drew Avery (Claymont), 152-Bruce Sefert (Beallsville), 160-Nolte (St. Clairsville), 170-Dennis (Claymont), 182-Crall (Claymont), 195-Sam Froff (Sandy Valley), 220-Garrett Harding (Claymont) and 285-Joe Newsome of Tuscarawas Valley.

NEXTShenandoah and Barnesville will be at the St. Clairsville invitational on Dec. 27-28 beginning at 11 a.m. on the 27th; Newcomerstown will host Monroe Central and Northridge on Dec. 28 at 6 p.m.; Caldwell will be at the Cardington Lincoln Pirate Duals on Dec. 29 beginning at 9 a.m. and Meadowbrook will host the Conns Duals on Jan. 5 beginning at 10 a.m.