Barnesville boys' cross country team honored at OVAC Banquet of Champions

WHEELING, W. Va. -- Shadyside High's Mark Holenka pocketed the prestigious Wheeling News-Register/Bill Van Horne OVAC Coach of the Year Award at the OVAC Banquet of Champions at WesBanco Arena on Monday.

Holenka guided Shadyside's football team to an overall record of 13-2, losing in the OHSAA Division VI state championship game to Delphos St. John's. The Tigers also captured the OVAC Class 2-A crown.

The other finalists were Mark Batton (Magnolia, football); Paul Jackson (Parkersburg South, wrestling); George Vargo (Madonna, boys' basketball) and Tina Yates (Shadyside, girls' basketball).

Another highlight of the event included the presentation of the championship banners to all of the conference boys and girls' division winners in each sport.

Local teams winning OVAC titles during the 2010-11 school year included Caldwell in volleyball and wrestling; Shenandoah in baseball and Barnesville in boys' cross country.

The overall champions in each division were also announced: Wheeling Park in Class 4-A; St. Clairsville in Class 3-A; Linsly in Class 2-A and Madonna in Class 1-A.