PICKERINGTON -- A trio of local runners emerged from Saturday's Ohio High School Athletic Association's Regional Cross Country Championships to advance on to the state championships at Scioto Downs.

In boys' Division II action, Zak Geiger of John Glenn took fifth place in 17:49.21 to finish in the top 16 needed to advance. Circleville's Brad Liston took first place with a time of 17:02.28.

Brennan Delaney and Wesley Lewis of Barnesville each advanced to state competition in Division III boys' action. Delaney took 10th in 18:02.28 while Lewis finished in 15th with a time of 18:08.97.

In the Division III team standings, Barnesville finished just out of the top four spots needed to advance. The Shamrocks took fifth place with 134 points behind the top four squads of Bellaire St. John's (1st-65), Liberty Union (2nd-103), Fredericktown (3rd-113) and Galion Northmor (4th-130). Caldwell also put on a good showing, finishing in sixth place with 161 points.

Other Eastern District state qualifiers in boys' Division III included Luke Holubeck (Bellaire St. John's), Matthew Moscato (Bellaire St. John's), Brad Olinger (Ridgewood), Ian Gulley (Bellaire St. John's), Jeremy Anderson (Fort Frye), Matt Riffle (Bellaire St. John's) and Logan Kettlewell (Garaway).

St. Clairsville took the Division II boys' team title with 59 points, followed by Granville in second with 95, Circleville in third with 120 and Sandy Valley in fourth with 131.

Other Eastern District boys' runners who advanced to the state meet in Division II included Cory Dotts (Claymont), Alex Thornburg (St. Clairsville), Shane Scheuer (St. Clairsville), Andy Thornburg (St. Clairsville), Sam Gindlesberger (Sandy Valley) and James O'Neill (Sandy Valley).

In Division III girls, area runners who advanced to state were Connie Collins (Sandy Valley) and Sarah Biehl (Fort Frye).

Girls' Division II Eastern District state qualifiers included Kelly Perzanowski (St. Clairsville), Kate Hodgson (St. Clairsville), Jamie Perzanowski (St. Clairsville), Amy Castle (St. Clairsville), Sarah Reichman (Dover), Maggie McIvain (East Liverpool), Kelsey Cogan (Carrollton) and Brianna Stevens (River View).

St. Clairsville captured the Division II girls' team title with 29 points followed by Minerva with 83, while Granville was third with 85 and Big Walnut fourth at 131.

Other local runners in boys' Division III included Barnesville's Brandon Stephens (34th-18:53.80), Kody Crooks (40th-19:03.10), and Christopher Baker (108th-21:44.9). Caldwell had Brandon Saling (18th-18:19.55), Darren Hesson (37th-18:58.31), Tyler Cordell (43rd-19:07.20), Ben Warner (50th-19:19.84), Tyler Abrams (61st-19:45.50), Nick Warren (85th-20:32.65), and Zach Sanford (100th-21:19.08)

Local girls competing in Division III were Barnesville's Karly Jones (40th-22:37.88), Amy Wahl (55th-22:54.96), and Allison Healey (76th-23:50.22).

In Division II girls' action, Meadowbrook's Kaity Dettra (98th-24:13.77) was the lone area runner.