Shamrock Diamond Classic title goes to Claymont High

BARNESVILLE -- Claymont High defeated host Barnesville, 9-5, to win the annual Shamrock Diamond Classic on Saturday.

In the consolation game, it was Erie Mason over Beallsville, 17-4. First round games saw Barnesville trounce Beallsville, 19-1, and Claymont beat Erie Mason, 15-5.

In its opener, Barnesville used a superb mound effort by Zane Wilson to dominate the Devils. Wilson struck out nine with just one walk in his first decision of the season.

Tre Greiner nailed a triple and a single with two RBI in the offensive explosion. Brawn McLaughlin also hit a triple with two RBI. Clint Healy hit a double with four RBI, and Tyler Moore and Wilson each added a double with a pair of RBI.

Brandon Heap took the loss for Beallsville (0-6), striking out one and walking three in one inning of work.

In the championship game, Claymont (6-6) used a five run third to win the title. Dane Darlin collected a double and a single with two RBI in the victory with Evan Long adding two singles and two RBI. Nick Merrick also had two singles.

Brennan Mills picked up the win on the mound with four walks and four Ks and Logan Addison earned the save.

The Shamrocks (8-3) were led at the plate by McLaughlin, who added another triple and a single to his day's total with an RBI. Healy added a double and an RBI while Wilson cracked two singles.

Tyler Kurtz took the loss for the 'Rocks, striking out five and walking two in three innings of work.