Heading Logo


Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

Every Day Is a Gift

A dear friend of mine died recently after about three years battling cancer. He had surgery, chemotherapy and spent extensive amounts of time at a famous cancer hospital in Houston, Texas. Medically he did everything he could possibly do to beat cancer.

By Dr. Glenn Mollette
Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

Cook's Humor

When Father's Day rolls around, I always get a little sentimental thinking about my dad. This year I'm remembering about the time, maybe 35 years ago, when we lived in Dayton, my mom and dad were visiting and he helped me plant an apple tree in our back yard.

By Carole Branz Wahler
Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

Farmer's Market open for season

Wanted to let you know the Barnesville Farmer's market began on Saturday, May 27, 2017 at the Barnesville Depot in the "John Schradel" pavilion and continues every Saturday from 8 a.m. until noon.

Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

Solar eclipse safety encouraged during Aug. 21 event

Earth has traveled nearly 40 times around the sun since the last time a total solar eclipse occurred in the United States. Now, we have the opportunity to observe such an event August 21, 2017. For two to three hours on Monday, Aug.

[More news below]
Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

Yost announces audit of ODE's disciplinary process

COLUMBUS -- Auditor of State Dave Yost has directed auditors to review how the Ohio Department of Education handles disciplinary complaints following an internal review showing more than half of those people identified in a 2012 Columbus City Schools data scrubbing scandal had not been disciplined.

Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

Thompson sponsors orphan well legislation

COLUMBUS -- The state would devote a larger portion of taxes and other funds paid by the oil and gas industry to capping long-abandoned wells across the state, under legislation being considered in the Ohio House. Sponsoring Rep.

By Marc Kovac Capital Bureau
Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

Growing up in Somerton

Editor, I am writing in regards to the book that was written about on the front page of the Enterprise the week of June 14, 2017. It was a very good article about the author and the book. However, after reading the book, I have a few comments concerning its contents.

Jun 21, 2017 12:00 AM

jeanealities

SINCE THE beginning of the Barnesville historic buildings, we've called them by an incorrect name -- names that have become generally accepted as correct. For more than a century we've called our municipal building the City Building and the train station the Depot.

By Jean Palmer Davis Lifetime Enterprise Associate
Jun 14, 2017 12:00 AM

Letter to the Editor

Editor, Bethesda honored its veterans on Memorial Day, May 29, 2017 by re-dedicating our WWI Memorial Clock along with the newly constructed Murray Family Memorial Plaza.

Jun 14, 2017 12:00 AM

10 things you should know about medical marijuana use in Ohio

COLUMBUS -- Ohio is still more than a year away from fully launching the new state program that will oversee medical marijuana use in the state. But in the 12 months since lawmakers passed and Gov.

By Marc Kovac Capital Bureau
[More news below]
Jun 14, 2017 12:00 AM

jeanealities

HAPPY BIRTHDAY to our great American flag today, June 14th! Congress adopted the stars and stripes as the official U.S. flag in 1777. Observance of Flag Day is a requirement in the Benevolent Protective Order of the Elks (BPOE).

By Jean Palmer Davies Lifetime Enterprise Associate
Jun 7, 2017 12:00 AM

jeanealities

AS THIS column is being completed, a number of the Barnesville High School track team are competing for state final competition in Columbus in the Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium at The Ohio State University. Again, I'm going to get personal.

By Jean Palmer Davies Lifetime Enterprise Associate
May 31, 2017 12:00 AM

Eberhart among those appointed to boards by Gov. John Kasich

COLUMBUS Last week Governor John R. Kasich announced the following appointments: Edward D. Eberhart of Barnesville (Belmont Co.) has been reappointed to the Belmont College Board of Trustees for a term beginning May 16, 2017, and ending May 12, 2020.

May 31, 2017 12:00 AM

10 things from the Ohio Statehouse

COLUMBUS -- Yes, they're still talking about the biennial budget bill on Capitol Square, and they'll continue to do so for the next month or so. But there's lots of other stuff going in Columbus. Here are 10 things that happened this week at the Statehouse: 1.

By Marc Kovac Capital Bureau
Rep. Thompson speaks on bill aimed at boosting local control for school districts
May 31, 2017 12:00 AM

Rep. Thompson speaks on bill aimed at boosting local control for school districts

COLUMBUS -- State Representative Andy Thompson (R-Marietta) this week offered sponsor testimony on legislation he recently introduced aimed at boosting local control for school districts and reducing the stress placed on students caused by frequent testing.

May 24, 2017 12:00 AM

jeanealities

SOME MAY not agree, but for this grandmother it was wild. Leaving at noon Friday, May 12 with daughter Sally and granddaughter, Amy, we drove to Hilliard to spend the night at granddaughter, Jenny's.

By Jean Palmer Davies Lifetime Enterprise Associate
Rep. Cera brings local advocates to Statehouse, shines spotlight on eastern Ohio economic issues
May 24, 2017 12:00 AM

Rep. Cera brings local advocates to Statehouse, shines spotlight on eastern Ohio economic issues

COLUMBUS -- State Rep. Jack Cera (D-Bellaire) last Tuesday welcomed community and business leaders from Eastern Ohio to the Statehouse, where they attended a meeting of the House Ways and Means Committee.

May 24, 2017 12:00 AM

Organizational data binders to be implemented at Barnesville Middle School next school year

If you currently have a child at Barnesville Elementary School, then you are familiar with the data folder. This organizational tool helps students to keep track of homework, grades, spelling lists, behavior charts, and calendar items.

Angela Hannahs Bevsd Superintendent
[More news below]
May 24, 2017 12:00 AM

Letter to the Editor

Editor, In 1797 Pope Pius said, "The democratic form of government is not repugnant to the gospel; on the contrary, it exacts all the sublime virtues which are learned only in the school of Jesus Christ." Our founding fathers agreed.

May 23, 2017 1:45 PM

Enough Already With This 'Happy' Memorial Day Nonsense

COLUMBUS — I walked into a coffee shop one holiday weekend a few years ago and was met with a loud, obnoxious “Happy Memorial Day” from the goofball barista behind the counter.

By Marc Kovac Capital Bureau