The Barnesville Area Education Foundation had its annual meeting on Sept. 11, followed by the regular Trustee meeting. 

 New officers and trustees were appointed which include: Jeff Crosier, president; Dave Johnson, vice president; Ted Hanlon, secretary; and Rick Wilson, treasurer. 

 Newly appointed trustees were: Brenda Brown, Richard Marmie and Misty Wilson.

Congratulation to the winner of the BAEF 2017 raffle, Tom Milligan. Milligan is a member of the Barnesville High School class of 1962. Thank you to all who participated and supported the Foundation.

The Foundation is pleased to announce a new grant, The Thomas T. Hanlon Grant. This grant was established with a bequest from the estate of Thomas "Tap" Hanlon a 1984 graduate of Barnesville High School. 

 The income from this fund is to be used to award small grants for the benefit of students with learning disabilities.

The BAEF will be hosting a turkey bingo on November 14, 2017 at the BPO Elks Lodge. Doors will open at 6 p.m. with games starting at 7 p.m. and ending at 10 p.m. There will be a concession stand.

New membership to the Foundation: Carpenter Quarter Horses, LLC - Rocky, Helen and Jeffrey Carpenter.

Pledges/?Donations for the period of Aug. 19 to Sept. 20 include: Nancy Wisniewski, David Fitzpatrick, Suzanne Hanlon, Dave and Kathy Kovalick, Randy Doan, Keith and Barb Wells, Connie Bourne, Jean Frazier, Jan Catherwood and L. Joe Thomas.

Teachers/?Staff pledges for the same period: Clint Abbott, Marisa Duall, Steve Fisher, Donna Jean Gallagher, Angie Hannahs, Jon Jordan, Lauren King, Matt King, Mary Lucas, Lynn Spiczenski, Pat Stephen and Amber Toriseva.

The mission of the Barnesville Area Education Foundation is to provide funds for the local education system and its students that might not otherwise be available through public funds.

If you would like to become a member or give a one time gift, contact them at P.O. Box 1, Barnesville, OH 43713; phone, 740 425-3001; or email

The next meeting of the BAEF will take place on Nov. 13 at 5:30 p.m.