43rd annual Doan Ford Wrestling Invitational set


Established in 1969 as on of the first Invitational Tournaments in the Tri-State area, the 43rd Annual Doan Ford-Barnesville Wrestling Invitational welcomes teams to the prestigious tournament to be held on Dec. 14 and 15.

The 2012 Invitational field includes the following teams: Barnesville, Beallsville, Bishop Hartley, Bridgeport, Caldwell, Claymont, Cincinnati Hills, Martins Ferry, Meadowbrook, Monroe Central, Morgan, Newcomerstown, River, Sandy Valley, Shenandoah, St. Clairsville, Tuscarawas Valley and Union Local.

Admission is $5 for adults (per session) and $4 for students (per session).

The tournament will be held in the high school gymnasium. It will be a double elimination tournament with 18 teams entered this year. The wrestling parents will be serving concessions Friday evening and Saturday until approximately 6 p.m. Several fast food restaurants are within walking distance. ** Coolers and electric appliances (roasters/crock pots) are not permitted in the gymnasium or cafeteria.

Weigh-in will begin at 2:30 p.m. on Friday and 8 a.m. on Saturday. Wrestlers must weigh-in each day prior to the beginning of each session. Weigh-ins will begin at 103 lb. contestants weighing at the same time. The next weight class will immediately follow. A one pound allowance shall be granted for Saturday’s weigh-in. (If team wrestles Thursday, Dec. 15 - please announce this at the seed meeting Sunday, Dec. 11).

The sessions will be as follows with approximate times for each round:

Sessions I - Friday, Dec. 14

First round - 4:30 p.m.

Quarter finals - 6:30 p.m.

1st Round Consolation - 8:15 p.m.

Session II - Saturday, Dec. 15

Semi-finals - 10 a.m.

2nd rd. Cons. begins on third mat after 125 lb. Semi

3rd rd. Cons. begins on all three mats - 12:45 p.m.

Consolation Semi-Final - 2 p.m.

Session III

Saturday, Dec. 15

Finals and Consolation Finals will start approximately one hour after the last Cons. Match (appoximately 4:15 p.m.)

This is a true double elimination format. All wrestlers will be guaranteed at least two bouts. *Exception: Since there are 18 teams entered into the tournament using a 16 team bracket, should we have all schools represented in a weight class, pig-tails will be placed on line 2 and line 15. The winner will advance, the loser will be eliminated.

Trophies will be presented to the first and second place teams. A plaque will be presented to the most outstanding wrestler and a plaque will be presented to the top four place winners in each weight class. A plaque will also be presented for most pins in the fastest time. Doan Ford will sponsor the trophies and plaques.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.