St. Clairsville, OH - The Belmont County Board of Developmental Disabilities has earned a five-year accreditation award, the highest award bestowed by the state, for the quality supports and services it funds or provides to people with disabilities.
Following a comprehensive and rigorous review conducted late last year by the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities, the team of surveyors from DODD determined that the Belmont County Board achieved substantial compliance with minimum standards and met or exceeded standards in DODD’s areas of excellence, resulting in the five-year accreditation.
Only a few of the 88 county boards in Ohio achieve five-year accreditation status.
“We are pleased that what we do for people with disabilities has been recognized in this way,” said Stephen L. Williams, Superintendent of the Belmont County Board of DD. “And we share this award with our provider partners, who are locating opportunities for people to achieve what they want out of life.”
Key positives identified by the state reviewers at the Belmont County Board of DD were leadership, strategic planning, strong collaboration and community options.
A seven-member board of directors oversees the Belmont County Board of DD. Marlin Harper serves as president with Cynthia Touvelle, vice-president, Annette Wiater, secretary, and Amy Dias, Robert Quirk, Phil Andes, and John Rataiczak.
The Belmont County Board funds and/or provides supports to over 500 people with developmental disabilities, like autism, Down syndrome and other physical and intellectual disabilities.
The Belmont County Board of DD is part of the BHN Alliance (Belmont-Harrison-Noble County Boards of DD) in which the three county boards share certain administrative functions including Superintendent, Service and Support Administration, and Quality Assurance. The Harrison and Noble County Boards of DD were reviewed at the same time and also received five-year accreditation awards.