Heading Logo

Union Local unveils new website

By CATHRYN STANLEY Editor Published: May 3, 2017 8:27 AM
  • 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos

At the Thursday, April 20 meeting of the Union Local School District Board of Education, EMIS Coordinator Lisa Britton unveiled the district’s new website, ulschools.

com, designed by 2011 UL graduate Jenna Britton of Jenna B Designs.

Lisa Britton said the decision to revamp the website was made in the spring.

Planning began over the summer and in the fall a photographer began getting pictures for the site including arial shots.

The website went live two weeks prior to the school board meeting, but Britton said it is a work in progress and will remain so.

[Article continues below]

Britton said she gathered the information with the help of some other staff members including Robin Eberhart and April Galownia.

[Article continues below]

We’re very proud of it,” Britton said.

 “They’ve been very patient in gathering and waiting for information for the website and I appreciate the effort,” he said.

Board member Dean Lancaster also expressed his appreciation for the website.

Bill West, Director of Support Systems, said the program would standardize the district’s cleaning system, allowing for the easy transfer of staff from one building to another.

Training would also be provided and could include all staff.

There would be no cost for the program, with the agreement that the district purchase the majority of its products from the company.

The letter said was a reflection of the hard work of the staff including Hissirch and on the community.

 Board member Ed Stenger said Hissrich deserved a large part of the credit.

 Helen Puperi said the resource center was included in the latest grant and four volunteers are being trained to help families navigate community resources, create resumes, learn financial planning, and provide other needed services.

In addition, a separate fund will be established to be used to help families in an emergency situation when community funds have been exhausted or do not exist.

She said that translates to approximately 600 students and their families that may need assistance at some time throughout the year.


First prize is a 10-minute shopping spree at Riesbecks’s in St.

Clairsville, second prize is a five minute shopping spree, and third prize is a $100 store gift card.

Tickets will be sold in front of the store on May 6 and 7.

The winner will be announced May 8 and the shopping sprees will take place on Saturday, March 13, 2017 at 9 a.

m. at the  St. Clairsville store. The rules and regulations of the contest are available on the school’s website.


Superintendent Porter, who serves as the Middle School Principal credited Jayme Yonak, testing and curriculum coordinator and Nardo for their work.

He said the testing went very smoothly and the staff and students worked hard.

The board approved the JetAdventure Program’s field trip to COSI for the Explore Weather exhibit on May 12.

The architect, Jeremy Greenwood was present at the meeting and answered questions from the board.

Treasurer Hissrich said the bids would be reviewed by the Building & Grounds Committee which would make a recommendation to the board.

Once a bid is accepted, the project will begin June 1 and is expected to be completed by August 10.

He said the chosen student will be announced at the May meeting and sworn in, with the June meeting being the first they will sit on the board.

Ed Stenger said he was excited about having a student board member.

 “You’ve got an awesome campus.

I think there’s so many people who just take it for granted the facilities you have.

I don’t know if there is another school campus in the (Ohio) valley that has their complete athletic facilities on the grounds of the school,” Menges said.

Certified three-year contracts were approved for: Alison Burga and Renee eddy.

Certified two-year contracts were approved for: Katherine O’Brien, Stephanie Moeller, Autumn Swallie, Kristin Heatherington, Amy Kinder.

Certified, one-year limited contracts were approved for: Elyse Swallie, Glenda Myers, Cindy Goff, Rick Link, Amie Purman, Kevin Lucas, Kathy Cordner.

Non-certified continuing contracts were approved for: Tiffany Lucas, secretary; Kayla Grigatis, para pro aide; Amanda Wharton, head cook; James Saska, bus driver; Lashelle Carpenter, para pro aide; Kirk Glasgow, bus driver; Robin Mayhugh, custodian,  Non-certified, two-year limited contracts were approved for James Good, bus driver; Carol Kokotovich, bus driver; Amanda Probst, para pro aide; Elizabeth Emery, aide; Matt McKivitz, custodian.

The board non-renewed the supplemental/​limited contracts for Kelley Hanlon, Lisa Whitacre and Elyse Thompson with the 21st CCLC High School After School Program for the 2017-2018 school year due to the program funding ending.

Amy Latham was approved as cheerleading advisor for varsity football and varsity basketball.

Isaac Clark was approved as soccer head coach, and Sarah Thomas as his assistant coach.


and Mrs. Jeremy Saunders from April 2017 through the end of the 2016-2017 school year.

for the automotive shop addition.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.