The Belmont/Monroe County FSA Committee election for Local Administrative Area (LAA) 3 will be held this year on December 4, 2017. Eligible voters have the right to nominate the candidate(s) of their choice. Nomination forms may be obtained at the Belmont/Monroe County FSA Office or from the website Each form submitted must be:

limited to 1 nominee

signed by the nominee, indicating willingness to serve, if elected

postmarked or delivered to the County FSA Office no later than August 1, 2017

Any nominee should be currently engaged in the operation of a farm or ranch and be well qualified for committee work. The election this year is for LAA 3, which includes Monroe County townships of Seneca, Center, Summit, Franklin and Wayne.

A producer is eligible to be a County FSA Committee member if the producer lives in the LAA up for election and is an eligible voter. COUNTY FSA COMMITTEE MEMBERS MAY NOT HOLD POSITIONS IN CERTAIN FARM AND COMMODITY ORGANIZATIONS IF THESE POSITIONS POSE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST WITH FSA DUTIES. These positions include functional offices such as president, vice president, secretary, and positions on boards or executive committees. Additional information of eligibility to hold office may be obtained at the County FSA Office.

The duties of County FSA Committee members include:

informing farmers and ranchers of the purpose and provisions of the FSA programs

keeping the State FSA Committee informed of LAA conditions

recommending needed changes in farm programs

participating in county meetings as necessary

performing other duties as assigned by the State FSA Committee.

In determining the boundaries of the LAA's, County Committees must consider several factors, including number of farms in each LAA, types of farming in each area, local political subdivisions, fair representation of socially disadvantaged producers, and geographical conditions such as soil types, crop diversity, etc.

The local administrative areas for the Belmont/Monroe County Committee Elections are as follows:

LAA 1: Monroe County townships of Malaga, Sunsbury, Switzerland, Adams and Salem

LAA 2: Monroe County townships of Green, Ohio, Lee, Jackson, Perry, Benton, Washington and Bethel

LAA 3: Monroe County townships of Seneca, Summit, Center, Wayne and Franklin

LAA 4: Belmont County townships of Warren, Flushing, Kirkwood, Union, Wheeling, Richland, Colerain, Pease and Pultney

LAA 5: Goshen, Smith, Mead, Somerset, Wayne, Washington and York.

For more information about FSA elections and other programs, please contact the Belmont/Monroe FSA office at 740-425-2300, option 2 or toll free from the 740 area code at 800-818-7645, option 2. More information is also available on FSA's website at: